A Quick Glance of the Historical Timeline

- 1882 First classes began with five students.
- 1883 Forty-three students attended by the end of the first year.
- 1884 Joseph Ward inaugurated as College president. 103 students are enrolled and taught by seven teachers. Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA) and Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) were formed. Aristonian Women's Literary Society was formed.
- 1885 Inscription for College bell written. Library contained 1,500 volumes. The Yankton Student began as the first student newspaper in Dakota Territory. Subscription was 45 cents per year.
- 1886 Tuition was Fall (\$15), Winter (\$12) and Spring (\$10).
- 1887 Students join in planting trees on campus. The first intercollegiate debate was held in Vermillion and included YC students from the Oratorical Association. The first commencement was held in June. Edward H. Pound was the first and only graduate in Theology that year. William J. McMurtry joined the faculty and becomes Dean of the College serving until his death in 1927. Tennis inaugurated as the first intercollegiate competitive sport around this time.
- 1888 Ground broke and construction began for Dakin Hall, a women's dormitory.
- 1889 "Free" scholarships are offered to one graduate from each high school in South Dakota. First intercollegiate football competition was held at the old depot grounds east of Yankton where YC loses 12-0 to the University of South Dakota. President and Founder of Yankton College, Joseph Ward died at age 52.
- 1890 Alice Reynolds Kingsbury was the first woman to graduate, then was appointed instructor of French. "Free" tuition for children of clergymen in South Dakota or Nebraska and one year of "free" tuition to a student from each county in South Dakota or Nebraska. Thegn Men's Literary Society was formed.
- 1892 Albert Tallman Free became the second President. First intercollegiate track competition held on a regular basis.
- 1893 Ground-breaking ceremony held for Ward Hall.
- 1894 Clarke Observatory opened. First regular football season started in the fall.
- 1895 Rev. Henry Kimball Warren became third President.
- 1897 A women's physical training course is added.
- 1898 Baseball inaugurated as an intercollegiate sport.
- 1900 First "Opening Day" exercises was held, a forerunner to Fall Convocation.

- 1901 Crane Gymnasium opened. Five acres are purchased for an athletic park, later known as Crane Field. George Harrison Durand joined the faculty as professor of English.
- 1903 Basketball inaugurated as intercollegiate sport.
- 1904 Y-Club was organized by John L. Griffith, coach and director of physical education, who founded the Drake Relays. Adelphian Men's Literary Society was formed. Cornerstone for a new library was laid. First Founder's Day was observed on the anniversary of Joseph Ward's birthday, May 5. Lee N. Dailey was appointed Conservatory director, a position he held for 43 years. College seal was adopted.
- 1905 Lay Library is dedicated.
- 1906 Germane Sodales Women's Literary Society was formed.
- 1908 First Commencement play, The Comedy of Errors, was performed on an outdoor stage. Sarah Wood Ward, wife of Joseph Ward, died.
- 1911 The first Okihe, the student yearbook, was published.
- 1914 Dakin Hall burned to the ground.
- 1915 A central heating plant was added. Kingsbury Hall for Women was dedicated. Garden Terrace Theater was dedicated and A Merchant of Venice was performed. The first issue of the alumni publication, the quarterly Yanktonais was published.
- 1916 "Greyhound" athletic nickname and mascot proposed. YC, Huron College and Dakota Wesleyan University form the new South Dakota Intercollegiate Athletic Association.
- 1917 Women's Glee Club organized. YC chapter of Pi Kappa Delta, national honorary forensics fraternity chartered. First Pioneer Day was observed.
- 1918 Pioneer Day was established. 1920 Men's Glee Club was established.
- 1921 The first Kronithonitollithron Banquet was held on Pioneer Day in October.
- 1923 Gregg Evans and Harry Savage join the faculty and Carl Youngworth was named Coach.
- 1924 The YC Orchestra is established as a permanent organization.
- 1925 George W. Nash was inaugurated as fourth President. Chapter of Theta Alpha Phi, national honorary dramatics fraternity was chartered. Enrollment tops 300. Howling Thirteen is established.
- 1928 Pi Gamma Mu, national social science honorary society is chartered. Hazing is curbed as a result of a "freshman revolt." Paddling is banned. Beanies worn only until Pioneer Day.
- 1930 Forbes Hall of Science opened. Howling Thirteen became Howling Thirty to support athletic contests.

- 1931 "Smokey Joe" Mendel '31 tied the world record for the 100-yard dash at 9.5 seconds in Huron. YC merges with Fargo College, a Congregational Church of North Dakota. Look Hall, a men's dormitory opened.
- 1932 Redfield College merged with Yankton College, becoming the School of Theology.
- 1933 Hail! Yankton College! is published.
- 1937 First Parent's Day was held.
- 1940 Joseph Lyle McCorrison, Jr., the fifth President arrived.
- 1942 Lifetime Pass was given to the Letterwinners who were graduated.
- 1946 James Clark Graham became the sixth President.
- 1947 Barrack apartments were added for the married students.
- 1948 Nash Gymnasium was dedicated.
- 1949 The Greyhound, the student yearbook, became an annual publication.
- 1955 Adrian Rondileau became the seventh President.
- 1962 The School of Theology closed. Donald B. Ward, the founder's grandson, became the eighth President.
- 1963 Bruno Beghe's sculptor of Rev. Joseph Ward was placed in the Hall of Congress in Washington, D.C.
- 1964 Durand Hall, the co-ed dormitory, opened.
- 1965 Elm Hall, a men's dormitory, opened.
- 1967 Warren Campus Center opened.
- 1969 Crane Field is renamed Crane-Youngworth Field.
- 1970 Lloyd Library opened. Fred S. Honkala became the ninth President.
- 1972 The Women's Sports Program began in basketball and volleyball.
- 1973 Alfred M. Gibbens became the tenth President.
- 1977 Orlan Mitchell became the eleventh President. The Greyhounds were voted the College Team of the Year by the South Dakota Sportswriters.
- 1984 Edward Couch became the twelfth President. Yankton College closed its doors December 21.
- 1985 Final Commencement held in June. Don C. Peterson became the thirteenth President.

1988 - The campus became a camp for the U.S. Federal Bureau of Prisons.